25
Mar
08

Hello my name is Sheila. I am an Internet Junkie.

This made me laugh today,

http://tech.yahoo.com/blogs/null/87251

It is actually a notion I’ve thought a lot about and even pondered if I might be afflicted myself. I do have that intense need to be connected at all times. I feel genuinely lost without my “Crackberry” and it makes me crazy if I haven’t checked email in the past hour.

Who knows what nuggets of information may be sitting in my inbox as of yet undiscovered?

The reality is, we’re usually talking about a marketing email inviting me to check out the newest gadgets at Crate and Barrel or another “MyPoints” email presenting me with yet another opportunity to add 5 points (just for reading!) to my growing loyalty program account.

There is no better feeling than to receive an email from a friend inviting me to lunch, or an email from my favorite “email buddy”, Kathy, with an update on what’s going on in her life. Akin to winning a hand at BlackJack, I feel like a winner whenever I check for new mail on my cell phone and see the note “inbox: 1 of 5” signifying 5 new messages are coming in!

So, what do you think? Do I need to start thinking about going to Internet Junkies Anonymous? Maybe… but can we meet online instead?

2 Responses to “Hello my name is Sheila. I am an Internet Junkie.”


  1. 1 Ayelet
    March 26, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I’ll meet you online any time but some times, it’s much more fun in person. I have decided that I am not addicted; it’s just part of my life. Think about the generation that has always had the Internet and all this technology … I am young at heart 🙂

  2. 2 Julie
    April 8, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    I know exactly what you mean. I just wish there was a better resolve to the psychological mess we are putting ourselves into. I think that pretty soon, everyone will be addicted and with no life and then where will we be? The worst part about being an internet junkie is that we get absolutely nothing substantial from it. The large hours of commitment provide nothing but feeling complete void and the loss of being content. This is definitely a problem that should not be avoided by society any longer. Even if it is considered “the norm.”


Leave a Reply

