31
Jul
08

An unlikely hero

I really enjoyed this article in SFGate, http://tinyurl.com/6nr5ja

Call me crazy, but this courageous man’s story speaks to my independent nature.  There is a part of me that is attracted to a lifestyle with “no strings attached” – no PG&E bills to contend with, no lawns to mow [not that I mow the lawn myself but you get my point!] – living off the land and using survival instincts.

I am also inspired by a man who has hit the bottom and is making strides to change his situation.  I do admire his craftiness and will to survive.  Plus, I am sure he is saving more money per month than most people in the Bay Area.

A couple of my thoughts:

I wish him luck and hope he can stay safe and healthy.

I also wonder if he might not be able to get a better job?  Telemarketing for a software company should yield more than what he makes now.  Back at Lyris in 2003, I hired an entry level telemarketing person for $30k/year plus benefits (I thought that was a ridiculously low salary at the time).

I wonder if he is going to suddenly get some job opportunities, donations, etc as a result of this article being published?… I hope so!

1 Response to “An unlikely hero”


  1. 1 Jax
    July 31, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Hey, I read that article too and it really struck a chord with me. We are looking at charities to donate to at the moment at work, and I suggested SF Connect, who also work with the homeless. The homeless are people that I encounter every day in SF, the one this morning had a bottle of bourbon with him, and was happily swigging it down. I do agree though, that this guy is really looking for a way out of his situation and is helping himself, which is totally amazing and should be commended.


Leave a Reply

