26
Aug
08

Optimism

In general, I tend to have a pretty “glass full” perspective on life.  I am not sure if it is because my sign (Sagittarius) dictates that I am optimistic or if I am optimistic because I want to accurately portray the characteristics of my sign.  Which came first, the chicken or the egg?

Either way, it’s a damn good thing I possess this trait.  I cannot imagine what my mentality at this stage of dealing with infertility issues would be if I were a pessimistic person.  Would I still be here?  Okay, I’ll try not to be morbid.

I’ve been thinking a lot about optimism and the ways that we, as human beings, adapt and deal with adversities in life.  

My long awaited period arrived over the weekend, so I’ve developed an new, rejuvenated level of optimism.  Or perrhaps it is naivety?  blind stupidity?  I have noticed that over the past few “normal” cycles (okay so it is a 46 day cycle vs. a 28 day cycle, but at LEAST the cycle is occuring) at the beginning, I feel so ridiculously positive minded and certain that this month is the month…  the month I will be like every other woman in the world and ovulate properly and on schedule.  Ha!  Fat chance.  I must be delusional because this has been my routine the last 4 cycles.  Oh, and then between day 14 and day 24 or so, I use up a box or two of ovulation kits thinking, “today is the day” each and every day until I finally give up. 

Do I sound optimistic now?  No just dumb, you are probably thinking.  Well… I just bought an ovulation microscope (stop laughing) so this month WILL be different, mark my words…

0 Responses to “Optimism”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

