26
Aug
08

Outside Lands

If you do a search on Outside Lands on Yelp!, the reviews you will find sure ain’t pretty.  The consensus is that the event sucked with a capital S!  I did not attend on Friday night when most of the complainers  attended.  I can only imagine an event where 60k people arrive pretty much at the same time, from downtown SF, and attempt to squeeze in to see one or two specific bands (Beck & Radio Head).  Instead I came on a Sunday afternoon.  There were a number of stages with decent bands playing at each venue.  It was a very non-eventful, but pleasant experience.  No lines, very tame and mellow crowd, etc.  It is hard to believe I attended the same event as some of the haters on Yelp!  However, I didn’t stay long.  I really just wanted to experience the newest SF music event.  Or, perhaps I needed to feel youthful again (it HAS been a while since I attended Lollapalooza at the Shoreline ampitheatre back in the day).  Granted, my friends and I spent the majority of the time giggling under our breath over the fashion choices of fellow attendants.  Perhaps it was jealousy, cause we could not get away with raiding Urban Outfitters then going out in public as they do? 

One of the memorable events of the day was watching a young woman smoking very indiscreetly from a giant pink flamingo bong.  Only in SF, right?

Oh, and how old do I feel?

Enjoy the pictures:

0 Responses to “Outside Lands”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

