12
Sep
08

Friday Bullets!

I was going to post some pictures I took yesterday.  There is an overpass in Lafayette where, each year in remembrance of the tragic 9/11 date, community members decorate the bridge with signs and American flags.  It is quite an amazing sight to see. 

Oh, but I don’t have a computer at the moment.  I am using Pete’s computer to post this blog.  Yesterday my computer decided that it did not want to charge itself any longer so the battery slowly went dead.  After a tedious call with Dell technical support, they determined the problem to be my charger.  The replacement charger was supposed to arrive today but so far nothing.  It looks like I’ll be computer-less this weekend.

Oh well, it’s Friday, right?  It has been a full day and it’s only 3pm.

  • First thing this morning, my boss breaks the news that one of our partner companies, NetPro, just got acquired by Quest (up until today a competitor).  Here’s the announcement.  Apparently it was one of those ugly takeovers where all the employees were told to report to a local hotel.  There was a room for the “welcome aboard” group and there was a room for the “goodbye, you’re fired” group.  Apparently the “welcome aboard” group was tiny in comparison to the other.  This news really makes me appreciate that I’m no longer a part of such a cutthroat corporate environment.  But it also makes me realize that nothing is a sure thing.  The world is ever-changing.  I need to be on my toes even in my seemingly secure job at a family-oriented company.
  • A-ha!  The DHL truck has arrived.  I am back at my computer ready to upload photos and sync my iPod, as I must upload my new Counting Crows playlist in order to prep for next week’s concert at the Concord Pavilion (yay!)
  • Lucy is licking the lotion off my leg at this very moment.  Speaking of lotion, while we were up at Tahoe last weekend,  Ayelet and I had to go look for a white bra for me (long story).  We found a great shop in downtown Truckee where I found my bra and Ayelet found some crack cocaine for the skin: Epicuren.  She bought a bottle of the lotion in a coconut kukui nut flavor.  I musta slathered 1/2 the bottle on myself over the course of the weekend.  I just went and ordered some for myself, ’cause it is the best lotion EVER.  You know how most lotions feel at least a bit waxy on the skin?  Epicuren?  no waxy feeling whatsoever.
  • Here’s a fun quote from Anna, “basically I feel like summer is over now, all of the coffee shops have pumpkin flavored drinks and stuff like that”.  Love that!
  • This weekend… really looking forward to checking out harvest season in Wine Country on Saturday.  I’ll be joining Ayelet and her visiting friend from Italy on a little wine tasting excursion.  We made reservations at The Girl and the Fig, which I’ve always wanted to try… so quite excited.  On Sunday, plans for lunch or an afternoon get together with Kathy & Doug.  Very excited to hear all about the pregnancy.  Maybe Kathy will let me feel her belly.  ; )

Have a great weekend everyone!

0 Responses to “Friday Bullets!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

