10
Jan
09

Happy start to 2009

I must say, I was DREADING this past week.  Sunday night I was beside myself thinking about what might be in store for me the first week of the New Year.  Would I be waiting for the phone to ring, listening to the crickets chirping in the distance?  or would a new year bring new optimism, new projects and new spending?

As a technology salesperson… you just never know what to expect on any given day.

I am pleasantly surprised by the way the first week of the new year turned out.  It does seem like folks are committed to turning a new leaf and flexing their budgetary spending muscles, because I’m seeing lots of new or newly revived projects… projects with purchase timeframes within the next few months [Big sigh of relief]. 

My company is doing well, all things considered – thanks to yours truly… I can’t be modest in this situation !!  : ) – we ended the year profitable and I did earn a nice profit sharing check that goes right into my 401k.  BUT, when all you hear about is doom and gloom re: the economy, layoffs left and right (rumor has it 17% of Microsoft’s workforce will be layed off in the next month — eeks!), one can’t help but be afraid, tentative, skeptical, etc.

Guess we just gotta take things one day at a time and hope for the best.  But, I do feel like this week is a sign that 2009 will be an epic year.

I feel happier than I have felt in a long time.   I am sure it is because of a few slight changes I’ve made in my life.   New Year’s resolutions… blah blah blah.  I’m working to incorporate new and different workouts, sports or exercises into my life.  I’d like to come out of my “comfort zone” and push the limits of my fitness level.  I have gotten into a nice, but somewhat boring routine of walking with Lucy, elliptical machine & light weights.  I don’t ever feel like I hit my cardiovascular threshhold and I definitely don’t challenge myself.  I’m taking a Zumba class tomorrow (hopefully I don’t make too much of a fool out of myself, as I do have two left feet).  I have asked my fun-loving husband to teach me how to hit a softball… poor sucker is in for a major feat as I have zero athleticism when it comes to sports like baseball & softball.  I’d also like to get back into tennis and yoga.  Wii fit is also of interest!! 

Last weekend, Ayelet, Pete and I went to Tommy T’s for comedy (we saw Anjelah Johnson).  It was so much fun and I would like to commit to more pure and simple entertainment events like comedy, listening to live music, concerts… even movies.  I know that when summer arrives, all I ever want to do is be outside in the sun, but I hope to make an effort to participate in different types of  experiences besides watching sporting events (SF Giants!) Life is too short not to experience all that is available to us.

In any case…. if all of the weeks of 2009 can be as great as this week has been, bring it on!

Oh!  Before I sign off… my thoughts are with Kathy who is giving birth to a baby boy next Tuesday.  I can’t tell you how excited I am for the arrival of baby Pavao-Larkin!  I am a pretty good auntie so I can’t wait to meet my new “nephew”.

0 Responses to “Happy start to 2009”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

