27
Jul
09

Fabulous Heirloom Tomato Salsa

Vicky's Bachelorette 079

I know this is not a “recipe blog” per say, but I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen lately so I thought I should share some of my creations with y’all.   I’ve always been the type of cook who prefers to DIAL for dinner or on a good day, bake cheese toast for dinner.  So no one is more shocked than I that I’ve been moderately successful at this whole cooking endeavor…

… Perhaps I did acquire some of my mom’s gene’s after all?  That woman can COOK, and that’s an understatement.  A typical meal at my mom’s house: lobster bisque, signature crab salad, beef wellington, roasted veggies and poached pear for dessert… seriously. amazing.

This summer has been heirloom tomato summer for me.  I eat at least one every day.  I am lucky because my sister, Laura & her family have a ginormous garden full of heirloom tomato vines, so each time I see them, I’m given a giant bag full of gorgeous, luscious tomatoes.  There is never any way I can eat them all, so I end up giving many away to friends.

My favorite thing lately is heirloom tomato salsa.  This morning I made a batch and threw in a cucumber as well.  Fabulous!

– 2 heirloom tomatoes, diced

– 1 persian cucumber, diced

– 1 small jalapeno diced

– handful cilantro, chopped

– 1/2 lime juice

– splash balsamic vinaigrette

– splash olive oil

– salt & pepper to taste

combine all ingredients, refrigerate.  I actually like the salsa the next day, when all of the flavors have a chance to blend.  I eat it straight out of the tupperware container, but of course, it’s great with tortilla chips!

Vicky's Bachelorette 078

0 Responses to “Fabulous Heirloom Tomato Salsa”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

