29
Mar
10

I have a secret…

It’s killing me that I must keep my mouth shut.  I am just not good at that!

Since I can’t stand it, I’ve decided to blog until the very moment that the secret can be revealed, at which time I intend to post all of my blog entries about my secret.  So, here we go…

After many years of trying, stressing, enduring acupuncture, being poked and prodded (and not just by Pete!!!), I am finally pregnant.  The last few weeks have been a whirlwind, since I first learned that IUI #2 was successful, to experiencing multiple blood tests and ultrasounds to confirm the pregnancy is “viable” to today, when I sit here at 6 weeks 5 days pregnant.  My baby is due to arrive on our around September 21, 2010.

Of course, it’s still too early to blab it to the world, although there are a few select individuals who know: my mom, sister, my best friend from HS who revealed to me that she too is pregnant, due 2 weeks before me and my exercise instructor who is due 3 weeks before me (crazy huh?)… oh yeah and a whole bunch of random ladies that I only know by their screenname who belong to the infertility forum I belong to.  Seriously that forum was key to my sanity over the last few months.

It’s finally starting to sink in that this is for real and later this year, our lives are going to change dramatically.  The experience has been a COMPLETE adventure so far – and it’s still so early – that I really needed to start documenting this experience.

Let’s take a step back why don’t we?  The day before I was scheduled for my blood test (they wait until 2 weeks after the IUI procedure), I couldn’t stand it any longer, so I took a Home Pregnancy Test…  NEGATIVE.  I was pretty bummed, but for some strange reason, I didn’t think the IUI would be successful.  Mainly because I had zero symptoms during the entire 2 week wait.  So, the next day I went in for my blood test.  Since my period still hadn’t arrived, so I figured I might as well.  That day I went out to lunch with a client and had a glass of wine.  After all, I was certain the blood test would come back negative.  Shock of all shocks… the nurse called me back to tell me I was pregnant.  I was driving at the time and thank goodness I was traveling slowly because I almost slammed on my brakes, I was so shocked.

I called Pete but we knew we had to be cautiously optimistic.  In hindsight I think we both felt like we couldn’t really celebrate, knowing that at my age miscarriage is a pretty common occurrence.

I then had to wait another 2 weeks for an ultrasound… to find out if the embryo is implanted in the correct place, has all the necessary parts and possibly see a heartbeat.  Those two weeks could not have gone any slower.  I experienced mild cramping (felt like pulling twinges low in my abdomen) and very sore boobies.  Pete says my boobs have gotten bigger, hallelujah!  I can use all the help I can get!

I was so nervous for the ultrasound, but hurrah, everything looked great.  The “baby” was 4 mm long and we saw a very strong heartbeat.  I nearly cried when I saw that heartbeat; it’s just a phenomenal experience to see that happening inside of you.  My doctor estimated me at 6 weeks 1 day pregnant, with a due date of September 21.

Of course that was last Wednesday and since then we’ve allowed ourselves to start exploring baby names, planning and truly getting excited for what is to come.

Last Monday (5 weeks 6 days), morning sickness hit me like a ton of bricks.  It really feels like I have been hungover for days (without having experienced any fun boozy nights of course!)  But it hasn’t been terrible.  I find that if I eat something light, it really helps.  Mostly I’ve been able to power through the waves of nausea.  Let’s hope that this is the worst.

Exhaustion has been the biggest plague for me so far.  Afternoons are really tough.  I feel my eyes closing and all I want to do is go to sleep.  Alas, napping is not in my DNA!  No matter how tired I am, I can’t just lie down midday and sleep.  Luckily I work from home, so I can be a zombie and no one will notice.

So far I’m reveling in the experience.  My mentality is: bring on the symptoms.  I want to feel it all.  It has taken so long for this to be a reality that I want to experience all of the positives and negatives that pregnancy brings.  As strange as that may sound.  They do say that women who experience morning sickness tend to have a lower miscarriage rate.

Thanks for listening.  I’ll check in tomorrow with some more details.  I’m starting to feel tired now.  : )

0 Responses to “I have a secret…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

